Skip to content

Chicken Boy Photo of The Week

May 19, 2010

Chicken Boy on his original roost at 450 South Broadway in Downtown Los Angeles in 1979. Photo by Terry Guy via Flickr

Stumbled across another photo of Highland Park’s most famous resident, Chicken Boy on his original roosting spot above the Chicken Boy chicken restaurant at 450 South Broadway. This photo shows our fine feathered fellow with the late afternoon sun setting on him in 1979.

Looking at this photo, it dawned on me that Chicken Boy was located next door to the 1925 Chester Building. The very same building where just last month the Vaux Swifts took up residence in an abandoned chimney. Could it be, these birds on their ancient migration of thousands of miles from South America to Alaska, stopped here looking for the last known location of Chicken Boy??? Perhaps searching for what could be the legendary god-like figure once worshiped by their ancestors? It is hard to say.

Swifts sure must have wished Chicken Boy was there to protect them from that hungry raven on the evening I shot this video. (Oh wait, never mind. He was known for frying up and serving his own kin.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jeff permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:53 pm

    That is crazy, when I was reading the post, I was thinking 450 Broadway, that is right where the swifts were…you nailed it!

  2. Rick permalink
    October 11, 2012 7:50 pm

    The memory of Chicken Boy has been BURNED into my mind since i was a 5 yr old kid. My mom would take me shopping with her and she would insist on stopping into Chicken Boy to eat. It was a horrifying experience for me! Right before we walked into the door of the facility I saw this gigantic ominous Chicken monster piercing down at me. I would cry and kick and scream as mom dragged me in and was baffled by my reaction. She actually thought is was funny as hell! I always wondered what did he have in that bucket? Did he eat humans? Bad Chicken!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,601 other followers

