Skip to content

The Front Yards of 90042

July 14, 2010

This front yard at 164 South Avenue 56 in Highland Park has to be among my favorite yards in 90042. And while I would like to avoid showing front yards that happen to be for sale, (sorry, this ain’t no real estate blog) once again this week we see another unique front yard in 90042 that is for sale.

Without a driveway, the trash cans hold the owner's parking space.

This 1903 home located on the dead-end of Avenue 56 has fascinated me for a long time. The exquisite detail, particular signage, and home to what looks like Highland Park’s longest vine. The place is an interesting and remarkable sight amongst the many remarkable and interesting front yards of 90042.

The Mother Root for the South Avenue 56 ivy vine.

The yard is done with such tediousness it looks as if local artist Clare Graham had manicured it himself. And though, I may not be a fan of fenced yards, this fenced in property seems to make the most of the situation by using the fence to trelase a vine that is well over 50 years old and well over a hundred feet long.

Potted St. Augustine grass, sleeping cat, and a determined vine.

Funny thing is, with such care put into maintaining the lawn and topiary, the house seems to be a little neglected. The exterior of the house has been in need of a new paint for many years, and the fence that holds the vine is broken in a few places.

"Keep Off The Grass."

As to why the house is being sold, or what motivates this landscaper, that is unknown for now.

Birdhouses abound as the vine continues on along the backyard fence.

What is known, is that for now the vine lives.

After the house sells, that may be another story.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 10:35 am

    Interesting house, I haven’t seen it before, but then again HLP isn’t my territory. I like this segment a lot. Thanks!

    -Severin

  2. July 14, 2010 12:08 pm

    That bathtub with the clouds and the bird houses. Love it!.

  3. August 8, 2011 5:35 pm

    This beautiful garden belongs to my Dad and Mom!! Yes the outside of the house is worn, but the inside is beautiful and holds many special memories in my heart. I LOVE when I visit since I live in Vegas, I am at HOME. The garden is my Dad’s enjoyment he really LOVES to work on it and brings him peace, and it brings joy to see my daughter outside enjoying the garden with her Papa:) I am writing this on 8-8-11 the house was taken off the market, too many people w/low offers, to be honest I am glad it was taken off the market, NO ONE will take pride or take care of the garden or house as my Dad and Mom do. 26 years of LOVE and hard work has made our home beauitiful inside and out!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,601 other followers

